Today I did my favorite class at the gym – Trekking. 

Basically it’s done on treadmills and we alternate intervals of hill climbs (up to 15% today) and speed sprints.  The first part of the class focused on increasing speed and incline on the treadmill until you were running as fast as you could at 15% incline.  Then, we kept the incline but slowed it down to about 1.8% and did WALKING LUNGES for a minute…then recovered…then repeated 3 more times.  Lastly, we did speedwork and I ended up running 7.7mph at 4% incline. 
I knew this class would be a real challenge so I had some dried apricots just before to give me some extra carb-energy (carb timing) to get me through it.    God I was tired after the class…..but in a “I accomplished something”  kind of way.   I didn’t wear my HRM today because it chafes me when I run/bounce for that length of time.  I figure I burned about 800 calories or more.   Good stuff!